Disturbing dreams of husband. Why?

 

Run!

What is it about dreams that puzzles us?

 

I love dreaming… Who doesn’t? But, as you guessed it, and much like everyone else, only good dreams.

Oh! If only we could control those dreams!

During my long-term but very rocky marriage I had my share of strange dreams. The dreams mostly consisted of snakes and I am one of those people that have a serious fear of snakes. I have snake phobia, or “ophidiophobia”, it’s technical term.

One day old garter snake

The mere sight of snakes makes my skin crawl and I go into absolute panic mode. If there is a snake nearby, my eyes will find it.

I absolutely hate them.

My fear is seldom understood by most folks, unless they have a fear themselves.

Well… these dreams almost always involved a snake and/or my husband.

Strange isn’t it?

I was either being chased or followed by him or a snake, and at many times both! I found that very disturbing. His following/chasing me made me run away from him, always.

I remember the running, always ahead of him and away from him, screaming or trying to scream, and once, during one of those dreams, I reached a dock and having nowhere else to go I jumped in the water. At night. Deep, dark, murky waters. Something I could  never, ever, do. I don’t know if I could ever find the nerve to jump into dark murky waters at night, much less willingly.

I will never forget how in this dream I preferred to jump in and perhaps even drown, rather than be caught by him. Now, why would I be fearing my husband chasing after me so much in these dreams??

The snakes in my other dreams somehow managed to find me, whether day or night, much like my husband. They were mostly during night time, and always chasing after me, whether I was presumably sleeping in bed, or elsewhere. And in many instances reaching me fast and biting me! I would wake up as soon as it closed in on me and I would wake up in fear, especially if I got to the point it would bite me, I even felt the bite near my ankle on some occasions.

That was petrifying!

I don’t know why I still call them dreams since these are better described as nightmares because I struggled and felt very much afraid as they woke me up and I felt so much fear, panic.

Snake Dreams

When you dream about snakes, chances are that the meaning of what you just dreamed about is related to challenging issues . . . snakedreams

Generally, a snake featured in a dream means that you’re dealing with a difficult situation or unsettling emotions in your waking life. On the positive side of this dream analysis, dreaming of snakes could also mean that healing and transformation are taking place.

Hmm… Transformation, Healing. That’s a thought.

I may never fully understand why snakes or my husband were involved in these horrible nightmares.  I am definitely looking forward to the end of these strange and disturbing dreams as my life becomes free of him, and in the snakes’ case, as I see it, free of their persecution and control.

Leave a Reply. Thanks a mill!

