Wishing to Just Slip Quietly Out the Back Door

Eat, Pray, Love

Oh the desire to leave a marriage can be so overwhelming at times!!

I remember wanting to do just that. He claimed since I didn’t love him or wanted to be with him that I should just leave. How convenient.

Thankfully, I didn’t do that. It could’ve been seen as abandonment and legally it has its repercussions. To those thinking of leaving, and are sitting on the fence trying to decide whether running away from a dead marriage is a good idea, remember there are consequences to our actions.

When kiddos are involved… Do things right, have patience, and think twice. Keep the peace for a bit until the storm subsides. (Now, if there’s abuse, then run for your life to safety, if you think about this too long life will pass you by). Just my two cents.

I am now reaping the benefits of being patient for so long. Having planned my exit gracefully. Now feeling safe and secure in my home.

With just me holding on to those wonderful Medeco keys.

Here’s where my blog title came from, one of my favorite books: Eat, Pray, Love (also made into a movie starring Julia Roberts!).

Read the entire quote:

“The only thing more unthinkable than leaving was staying; the only thing more impossible than staying was leaving. I didn’t want to destroy anything or anybody. I just wanted to slip quietly out the back door, without causing any fuss or consequences, and then not stop running until I reached Greenland.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love  

Leave a Reply. Thanks a mill!

