Love, Like Football

candyluv

If every person loved his/her partner like men loved football, relationships would be just about perfect.

Considering we just saw a fantastic Super Bowl Game πŸ˜‰

I love this month of February, the Love Month.

This month everything seems to be about “love”. Everywhere I look all I see is love.

And I’m happy for it.

I know it sounds strange coming from a recent divorce. But in reality, we all need love. In some form or fashion, we all crave it, need it; long for it.

That special kind of love that makes you all yummy inside is what I’m talking about. The romantic love; because we all know a relationship without romance takes a whole lot more effort to work.

So, in February I’m noticing there are gobs of candy displayed on the shelves of my favorite stores, ongoing advertisements promoting present ideas for Valentine’s Day, there are gift guides, Hallmark cards, flowers, more candy treats and recipes, red hearts… In essence there’s romance everywhere!

I know relationships take work, and without some form of romance, which I believe is the glue that holds a relationship together, it can very well crumble. I know some think “sex” is the key.

It isn’t.

Come to think of it, relationships require a whole lot of key ingredients: love, acceptance, respect, forgiveness, compromise, understanding, etc. for relationships to work. My failed marriage was missing many of these, unfortunately. And trust. And patience. I could go on and on.

My ex had a great big romance/love/passion for sports, mainly football. And I noticed that his devotion for sports consisted of a lot of these ingredients named above. He respected his team, forgave those players that did stupid things, accepted the new ones that joined (with some hesitation and some with elation) and understood some teams just plain make mistakes. But after all was said and done, he stuck by them.

Now, I believe, if he had shown those to me, there may have been a lot less problems in our marriage. But they say hindsight is 20/20, right? Well, there may be lots of “could’ve” & “should’ve”s! Even the ones we don’t see clearly.

Let’s celebrate the Love Month by looking forward and learning from our mistakes and putting some new ideas to work. I may not love football as much as some people do but I understand the logic behind having that special bond/connection that needs romance and a few key ingredients in order for it to work πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Love, Like Football”

  1. Love is all you need, for sure, by which I mean understanding and care and attention, but romance strikes me more as a short term delsuion, like addiction, which fades and misleads. But then I like football and I am a man and my relationhip track record aint great, so what would I know.

    On football I like this post

    http://www.becomingminimalist.com/emptiness

    Like

    1. I mean romance as in… Feeling and acting on that emotion called love πŸ™‚
      We can say we love that team, sure, but unless we express it (here’s where romance comes in) no one would know it. In the same way I can say I love my partner but if I don’t express it…. There goes that!
      Hope that helps to clarify πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply. Thanks a mill!

