When You’re Dreaming of Divorce, Don’t. But if you must…

It’s so hard to go through a divorce. I personally don’t recommend it.

Why?

Because divorce is not just an ugly word, it comes wrapped up with heartache and pain. Trust me on that one.

But for those of us adamant in getting a divorce for any number of reasons….And have begun the process (meaning: your reasons to do it far outweigh the reasons not to), there is hope. You will go through a lot, but there’s a beautiful bright light at the end of the tunnel. You’ll see 😉

My top things to do that helped me tremendously while going through the ordeal:

  • Think (& stay) positive – I surrounded myself with good things, like family and friends that supported me, wonderful, inspiring quotes (such as these below), etc. ensured I didn’t lose my mind in the process!

The Best is Yet to Come  ~William Shakespeare

If you’re going through hell, keep going.  ~Winston Churchill

  • Keep a calendar/diary – it helped keep me sane to visually capture the process. There are wonderful apps that helped with that, right on the mobile phone!

cal

  • Do not cast blame – I learned that taking it out on my spouse (or worse, kids!) is a huge no-no. Remember the old saying: If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. I did vent, but only with close friends (but DO listen to them as well, it is only fair!).

shh

  • Eat healthy. Stay healthy – being physically fit benefited me as my mind stayed clear. Reaching for the junk food/alcohol, I knew I wouldn’t be up to any good. How can we think clearly with a mind/body full of garbage? I kept this cool sign on my fridge door. Plus I made sure I worked out to stay active and let out my frustrations.

no-junk-food-sign

All in all these helped me as I went through the entire process of divorce: The dreaming of, the deciding, the planning, the staying focused, the actual divorce process (which is long and arduous), the culmination, and yet then a new beginning.

The above isn’t meant to be a comprehensive list, but rather something that will help you weather the storm more easily.

marriagedoit

Leave a Reply. Thanks a mill!

